Juvenile Courts (R.S. N.S. 1923, c. 166).—The Children's Protection Act provides for the establishment of Juvenile Courts and the appointment of Juvenile Court judges. The Courts exercise jurisdiction in juvenile matters under provincial statutes and are also Juvenile Courts under the Dominion Juvenile Delinquents Act. There are six Juvenile Court judges.

New Brunswick.—Supreme Court (R.S. N.B. 1927, c. 113).—The Supreme Court of New Brunswick consists of three divisions, namely, an Appeal Division, a Chancery Division and a King's Bench Division. The Appeal Division consists of a chief justice, who is known as the Chief Justice of New Brunswick, and two other judges. The Chancery Division consists of three judges who are the judges of the Appeal Division. The King's Bench Division consists of a chief justice and three other judges. The Appeal Division has general appellate jurisdiction throughout the Province and the King's Bench Division has unlimited original jurisdiction throughout the Province in civil and criminal matters except in chancery. All judges are appointed by the Governor General.

Court of Divorce and Matrimonial Causes (R.S.N.B. 1927, c. 115).—This Court was established by a pre-Confederation statute which has continued in force to date. It has divorce jurisdiction only. There is one judge who is appointed by the Governor General.

County Courts (R.S. N.B. 1927, c. 116).—The Province is divided into counties with a County Court for a county or group of counties. There are six County Court judges, appointed by the Governor General. The Court has criminal jurisdiction, jurisdiction in contracts up to \$400 and jurisdiction in damage actions up to \$200. The Court has no jurisdiction where title to land is brought in question or the validity of any devise or bequest is disputed.

Probate Court (R.S. N.B. 1927, c. 120).—A Probate Court is established by provincial Act for each county and each Court is presided over by a judge appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. The Court has jurisdiction over estates.

Juvenile Court (S. N.B. 1944, c. 44).—The Juvenile Courts Act provides for the establishment of a Juvenile Court for each place where the Dominion Juvenile Delinquents Act is in force. Two judges have been appointed, one for Saint John and one for Moncton. The Court has jurisdiction in juvenile matters under provincial statutes and is also a Juvenile Court under the Dominion Juvenile Delinquents Act.

Magistrates.—There are four classes of magistrates, namely, those appointed under the Local Courts Act (R.S.N.B. 1927, c. 121), the Towns Incorporation Act (R.S.N.B. 1927, c. 179), under city charters and under the Magistrates Act (S.N.B. 1942, c. 58). Magistrates have limited civil and criminal jurisdiction.

Justices and Commissioners Courts.—These are Courts of limited jurisdiction which are gradually being replaced by Magistrates Courts.

Quebec (R.S.Q. 1941, c. 15).—*Court of King's Bench.*—The Court consists of a chief justice, who is called the Chief Justice of the Province of Quebec, and 11 other judges, all of whom are appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Court has appellate jurisdiction in civil and criminal matters and has original jurisdiction in criminal cases.

Superior Court.—The Superior Court consists of a chief justice, an associate chief justice and 35 other judges, all of whom are appointed by the Governor General. The Court has general original jurisdiction in civil cases throughout the Province.